Hitting the Reset Button

We’ve done a lot of cleaning, purging, and rearranging of “stuff” around the house the past couple of weeks. For many reasons, this seems very appropriate now. Given the way things have gone in this country the last few years and a lot of things in my life in the last year, it’s time for a reset. Part of this is simplifying life and getting rid of stuff that is really not needed.

Last weekend, we tackled the office. It was a disaster. There were boxes and boxes of paperwork that I spent hours reviewing and either tossing or organizing into files. There were also many boxes of things that got the same treatment. When we were done, it was very satisfying to have accomplished something. However, I was surprised that there were some sad moments along the way. Why? Well, several things really. Other than precious keepsakes now packed away, all evidence that we ever had small children has been removed. No more toys, kids books, crayons, or Barbie dolls. I get it…kids grow up and you can’t keep the place looking like Romper Room forever. It just makes me sad sometimes that fun of those young childhood years is in the past. We also ran across things that reminded us of beloved pets and family member that are no longer with us.

Overall, it was a good thing. The office got cleaned up, we got rid of unneeded clutter, and we can now actually find paperwork when we need it. Along the way, we got the chance to refresh some memories and reflect on some good times in the past. Now it’s time to treasure and do the best we can with today and build for a better tomorrow.

Posted in Life. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Hitting the Reset Button”

  1. Rick Says:

    It broke my heart to get rid of the Little Boy items a couple of years ago. But you gotta do it so you can get to the next phase of your life.

    Back in 1999, after my divorce, my boys would come over for their time with me, and too soon it would be time for them to go back. It’s always too soon. But when it was time for them to go back to their mom’s, I’d simply say, “K, guys, time to get our things and go.” And we’d get our coats on and gather up the things that go back, and head out the door. When I got back home, I couldn’t bear to pick up the Legos and space guys and Hot Wheels that had been played with just a short while ago. It just seemed wrong to disturb them. So, I would leave them there for several days, or until I had a sense of peace about moving them. Weird, I know, but that was just part of the whole process back then. Now, of course, I am constantly on them about picking up their things. Go figure.

  2. Jodi Says:

    Bryan, you’re back! I thought Fb sucked you up forever. I was missing your posts! Glad to have you back.

  3. Bryan Says:

    Yeah, I’m trying to get back to blogging. FB has been great to reconnect with old friends. But now I have neglected my new, blog friends.

  4. Jodi Says:

    I found my best friend from second grade in Winnemucca, Nv on fb! We moved to Idaho after that and I had always wondered what she was doing! It was wonderful to find her. I’ve also found so many of my high school friends who I haven’t seen since I graduated 35 years ago. Love fb!


Leave a Reply

