Is Facebook Killing My Blog?

Anyone out there still? Helloooo…

About a year-and-a-half ago, I finally found something productive to do with my late-night computer addiction. Yup, that would be this blog. I found it to be a great outlet for my thoughts, for doing some creative and humorous writing, and just sharing cools things with my readers.

That was until a critical mass of friends finally joined Facebook and I finally “got” why it was so (evil but) cool. My blogs stats show it. Just 2 posts in the last month if you count this one. My hit stats actually started declining even before that and I blame it Facebook also.

Once you get on there, they just have so many things to keep you glued to the site, clicking different applications, chatting with friends. These guys are geniuses even if they are also evil.

We’ll see what the future holds. I really hope to get back into more regular posting.

Well, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some potatoes to harvest in Farm Town, some drinks to pass out to friends, a good karma request to return…

11 Responses to “Is Facebook Killing My Blog?”

  1. John Says:

    what you need to do is link the two so when you make a post here, it shows up on facebook.
    I working on updating FB to accept the feed from the NEW RR, but it’s something you should consider.

  2. Sheri Says:

    That’s what Jodi does. Her blog is linked to her Facebook. Check her out at Hidden Springs Hilbillies. I found your Blog through hers and enjoy it. Please keep writing!

  3. Rick Says:

    Yeah, I generally link to any new blog posts on Facebook, but like you, even those have been few and far between lately. I blame Twitter and Facebook on my lack of posts on my own blog. My goal this summer is to provide some professional development posts on my blog, and see what sticks over on Facebook. So far, anyway, the conversations have been interesting.

    BTW, what the freak is Farm Town, anyway? I keep seeing that pop up on FB.

    • Bryan Says:

      Rick, whatever you do don’t go there. It’s another incredible sap on time if you start up. You basically go plant crops and then harvest them for a profit. Then repeat. You can also buy farm animals, build fences and barns, and help your friends out on their farms.

  4. Jodi Says:

    Brian, you see, I have a pathetically dull life and check my “regular” blogs probably 4 times a day – keep blogging buddy – I enjoy your stories!

  5. Bryan Says:

    Thanks for all the encouraging words–well except from jonsquared 🙂 I really wasn’t sure if anyone was still watching for new material here. Glad to hear some are still here and I will make that effort to post more stuff. I really do enjoy my readers, also enjoy reading your blogs, and enjoy the free therapy from being able to get things off my chest here.

  6. shraddha Says:

    My recent blog has killed my facebook activities.

    Also i am too embarrased to link my blog on my facebook.
    I would rather develop new community of friends through my blog and keep facebook for family friends and colleagues!

  7. Moralia - Facebook is killing my blog Says:

    […] I just Googled “facebook killing blog” and found this. And I thought I was being original. Nowadays, it’s nearly impossible to be original. As it […]

  8. Lisa Says:

    it’s “addiction” not “addition”
    fyi :O

  9. TeenDad Says:

    I’m now 19 and experiencing being a dad. I must say although it feels good it’s still hard. I knew it wouldn’t be easy but to be honest, the hard part is having to balance time. My daughter is great and makes managing her never dreadful. -Teen dad


Leave a Reply

