High School MeMe

John recently completed this high school meme. It looked like fun, so I’m following suite. Feel free to post your own and let me know.

1. Did you date someone from your school? My high school years were sad and pathetic romantically (and in most other ways as well). I didn’t date in high school. 

2. Did you marry someone from your high school? No, I married someone from my wife’s high school.

3. Did you car pool to school? Sometimes. Mostly though, I walked before I got my license and drove by myself after. 

4. What kind of car did you have? A puke-green 1975 Chevy Vega. This may explain my answer to #1.

5. What kind of car do you have now? A red 2008 Toyota Corolla.

6. Its Friday night…where are you now? Watching TV and having a beer.

7. It is Friday night…where were you then? You would probably find me with John. Either at his house, my house, a high school sports game, or cruising. And if we were cruising, you’d find us chugging…a 7-11 Super Big Gulp. 

8. What kind of job did you have in high school? I was a gas station attendant at a Chevron gas station.

9. What kind of job do you do now? I’m an IS Administrator.

10. Were you a party animal? No.

11. Were you considered a flirt? No.

12. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir? Yes, I was a band nerd. Yet more evidence for #1.

13. Were you a nerd? I won the trifecta of nerd-dom: band, science club, and chess club.

14. Did you get suspended from school? No, not in high school. I was suspended once or twice in Middle School.

15. Can you sing the fight song? No. However, it is to the tune of On Wisconsin. I guess our school was too poor to come up with its own song.

16. Who was/were your favorite teacher? Ms. Richter (Math) and Mr. Endicott (Social Studies).

17. Where did you sit during lunch? In a chair like everyone else.

18. What was your school’s full name? Ontario High School

19. Where did you party the most? My place or John’s.

20. What was your school mascot? The Tigers! And this was during the 80s. In band, we played Eye of the Tigers so much it made our ears bleed.

21. Would you do it again? Only if I could do it right this time.

22. Did you have fun at Prom? Do we have to keep bringing up dating? Are you tring to rub salt into the wound? Please again refer to #1.

23. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with? One last time, see #1.

24. Are you planning on going to your next reunion? Most likely. It makes for some cheap entertainment.

25. Do you still talk to people from school? A few of them.

26. What are/were your school’s colors? Cardinal & Corn, whatever the heck those are. How about red and yellow?

13 Responses to “High School MeMe”

  1. Jodi Says:

    Well, here’s mine that I did on Facebook a few weeks ago. Fun to think back!

    1. Did you date someone from your school? Of course, there wasn’t another school around for 40 miles.

    2. Did you marry someone from your high school? No

    3. Did you car pool to school? Nope, we lived 4 miles up a creek with no neighbors. We also didn’t call it carpooling, it was called “hey can I get a ride!”

    4. What kind of car did you have? Whatever my dad had at the time

    5. What kind of car do you have now? Ford Truck

    6. It’s Friday night…in 1974 where are you? Probably hanging out at Jere Calloway’s house smoking pot

    7. It is Friday night 2009…where are you? Home watching tv

    8. What kind of job did you have in high school? Waitress at Ferncroft Lodge

    9. What kind of job do you do now? Waitress at the Merc!

    10. Were you a party animal? Um, yes on weekends. Weeknights I was usually in bed by 7:30

    11. Were you considered a flirt? yes

    12. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir? Graduated from a school of about 75 kids – no band, no orchestra, no choir

    13. Were you a nerd? We didn’t have that word

    14. Did you get suspended or expelled? Heck no! Dad was the only law enforcement up there and he’d of kicked our butts!

    15. Can you sing the fight song? not any more

    16. Who was/were your favorite teacher(s)? Mrs. Graham

    17. Where did you sit during lunch? Outside. Our cafeteria was in the little 3 room gradeschool just a few steps away from the high school.

    18. What was your school’s full name? Garden Valley High School

    19. When did you graduate? 1974

    20.What was your school mascot? Wolverine

    21. If you could go back and do it again, would you? I had a GREAT time in high school, but I think no.

    22. Did you have fun at Prom? Yep

    23. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with? Can’t remember who I went with!

    24. Are you planning on going to your next reunion? Yep, we have one every 5 years for anybody who went to school there.

    25. Do you still talk to people from school? Yep

    26. Who do you talk to the most from high school? My sister-in-law

    27. Did anybody famous graduate with you? Well, not really. Except a gal who graduated 10 years before me who went on to be the world champion female bull rider for about 10 years in a row and as far as I know, she STILL rides bull at the age of 62!

    28. Did anything tragic happen to anyone in your Senior class? I lost quite a few friends to the highway between Garden Valley and Horseshoe Bend.

    29. What’s your best memory of high school? Knowing EVERYONE who went there, riding horses, hanging out at the sheep corrals. Actually, way too many to write about.

    30. Do you still live in your hometown? No

    31. What did you do the night of graduation to celebrate? Hung out with friends at the Joint – we had 12 in our graduating class

  2. John Says:

    You know… you keep dropping little stories about the Vega and eventually your readers are going to rise up and DEMAND stories.

    Do tell the Silver City Story…. or the time we ran out of gas and you left me by the side of the road to ride back into town with the cheerleaders… only to return 4-5 hours later in a ODOT dump truck. OR… the amazing trek to Canada OR the amazing journey to Salem that took 15 hours… I’m sure there are others you can think of….

    see you tomorrow!

  3. Bryan Says:

    Ok, ok, so the full Vega story needs to be made public. I get it. Some of the details have apparently escaped me over time. Remember, I am 40 now. At 40, everything starts to fail–memory perhaps being the first thing. I can fill you in on some of that while you are here. You can refresh my memory on some of these things and I promise to post about it.

    Getting old really sucks. Have I mentioned FRICKIN READING GLASSES yet?

  4. Jodi Says:

    Oh do tell! I can’t believe you’d make a friend ride in a car full of cheerleaders – I’m surprised you still speak.

    I love hearing stories about how people grew up. Share!

  5. John Says:

    No… No… HE rode in the car full of cheerleaders…. I stayed by the side of the road for 6-10 hours… coyotes were circling.

  6. Rick Says:

    I was a band dork, too. What instrument? I rated high enough on the goof-off scale so that I was allowed to play trombone. Even got to college on a scholarship for it, believe it or not. No, the goofing off, not for actually playing an instrument.

  7. Bryan Says:

    Jodi: Actually, I rode in the car full of cheerleaders. I think I got the better end of the deal.

    John: Coyotes? 6-10 hoours? No embellishment there right?

    Rick: Mostly clarinet. I think that I was like second from last seat most of the time. Occasionally sax and keyboard bass. We were redneck enough that we had the keyboard bass in the marching band. Complete with speakers on wheels.

  8. John Says:

    there were the banjo playing hill-folk too….

    they were egging on the coyotes!

    15 hours I tell you!

  9. John Says:

    Bryan was quite the sight in his band uniform… I may have pictures!!

  10. Bryan Says:

    NOOOO! Those can never hit the Internet! They were horrid.

  11. nectarfizz Says:

    I would have totally asked you to prom dude!!

  12. nectarfizz Says:

    ps. Dear GOD, please let John have a picture…snicker.

  13. Bryan Says:

    Bekki: once you see the pics, you may change your mind asking about me out…heh.


Leave a Reply

