Tired

Okay, I’m forcing you to join me in my boredom at the tire shop. Hey, get back here. I need some company.

Yesterday, we woke up to some snow on the ground. The Older Daughter is now driving to school every day. Being an adult with lots of life experience, I advised her to keep her speed down and not follow too close. Then I headed out to work.

It really wasn’t that slick…until…the final road leading to my workplace. Me…the responsible adult…with all my life experience…found myself going a little faster than I should have and following a little too close. I discovered this fact when the truck in front of me came to a sudden, dead stop. I hit the brakes, but just slid. All I had time to do was swerve to avoid rear-ending the truck. I jumped the curb and then ran over some concrete scraps. There was a nasty scraping noise underneath the car. Not missing a beat, I regained control and got right back on the road. There didn’t seem by be anything wrong with the car.

Backtrack with me to a few months ago. Same tire shop said that I needed new tires, but that they could go a little longer. Looking at the bank account and the economy, I decided to wait. I was hoping I could milk them until next fall to save a few bucks. This is the responsible, smart adult thinking again. I had noticed some loss of traction…particularly with water, dirt, or gravel on the road. After yesterday, it would appear that this same loss of traction also applies to ice and snow. Go figure.

toyo

Since I drive about 30,000 miles per year, I decided to go with tire that has the longest tread life, longest warranty, and, therefore, the highest price. They are the Toyo Eclipse. It’s going to be a little under $600 out the door for the 4 tires. The warranty is for 70,000 miles. Sheesh, they’re only going to last a little over 2 years. Oh well, better $600 every couple years than $400 every year I guess.

While I’m here, they’re going to hoist the car up high enough to see if there is any damage under the car. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. However, given my luck, you’ll see another post soon about the damage.

Thanks for hanging out with me at the tire shop and listening to my sad, boring tale. You may go now if you would like. I might just take a nap while I wait.

8 Responses to “Tired”

  1. Matt Says:

    “There was a nasty scraping noise underneath the car. Not missing a beat, I regained control and got right back on the road. There didn’t seem by be anything wrong with the car.”

    That’s the spirit, the concrete curb was badly traumatised (and may need counseling), but the car’s fine, I had to wince at the “nasty, scraping noise” but it’s passed now, although my teeth may be a mm shorter.

    The main thing though Bryan, is that you are okay (that is unless you’re writing this from hospital, in which case, I’ll be sending grapes and a glossy tyre catalogue for you to while away the hours with)

  2. Matt Says:

    Maybe, you could rename you blog “Dad on the curb” 🙂

  3. Rick Says:

    Yeah, mine is getting out of the shop on Monday, after a two-week fixit job. Turns out my 4WD and snow tires weren’t enough to keep me going straight on the freeway last December.

  4. Bryan Says:

    Matt: Yup, it was a hit and run. I didn’t even stay behind to see if the curb was hurt (or…gasps…killed). “Dad on the curb” ROFL

    Rick: Wow, that really sucks. I hope no one was injured.

  5. nectarfizz Says:

    I spent at least 5 min there with you….the coffee could use some help..(just saying)

  6. nectarfizz Says:

    Ps…Matt….LOL

  7. Bryan Says:

    I agree, but the free popcorn. I LOVE that.

  8. nectarfizz Says:

    Bry, have you ever had the flavored popcorns they sell now?
    Yummo!


Leave a Reply

