Kate Miller-Heidke: A Fresh, New Sound?

I was just randomly surfing around through YouTube tonight…looking for something off the wall and downright silly. Well, I found it and perhaps found a new singer to add to my list of favorites: Kate Miller-Heidke. She’s a 27-year-old Australian that originally trained in opera (puke), but then came to her senses and is now working in pop (better).

She has a completely unique sound and a quirky manner about her that I absolutely love. Check out her video for Can’t Shake It:

Like that one? Test drive Words…I think it has an even more unique sound.

Are you still with me? Then check out this “ballad”–Make It Last.

So what do you think? Maybe I’m out of my mind (okay, I know I am), but her style and sound clicked with me instantly. I’ll have to let you know if I still feel the same way after a few days.

4 Responses to “Kate Miller-Heidke: A Fresh, New Sound?”

  1. Jodi Says:

    Well, I can’t seem to get past the look. She looks like Barbie on drugs. Oh heck, I don’t know what she’s on. Oh, I know. She looks like one of my childhood Barbies after I combed her hair every day for a week.

  2. Bryan Says:

    LOL Jodi. It’s so funny that you mention that. When I first started watching the video, I really thought that it was going to be a Barbie parody. But take another look. Her breasts are not large enough to be Barbie. 🙂

  3. Rhoni Renee Says:

    I’ll definitely check her out…I’m always on the lookout for new music to perk my interest

  4. nectarfizz Says:

    You know you love her..heh…quirky is “our” kind of people..heh


Leave a Reply

