Hey, She’s Still Paying Attention

I really thought that as of 2 or 3 years ago, the Older Daughter no longer cared about my opinion nor was at all influenced by me. It really seemed that she was in her own teen world and had it all figured out–at least in her opinion. Well, I found out this week that I actually do still have some influence.

Her high school held a mock election on Tuesday. I asked her who she voted for and she told me. When I asked how she came to the decision, she said that she really didn’t know who to vote for. But she knew who I was voting for, so that’s who she chose. Now of course that’s not the right way to pick a president, but it made me smile that she thought enough of my judgement to make the same choice.

Then last night we were at Wal-Mart picking up a few things. Homemade dinner was not in the cards, so we we picked up some stuff at the deli. The Older Daughter and I both chose the turkey sandwich and threw them in the basket. Then I noticed her checking the shelf again. Pretty soon, she grabbed this huge turkey sandwich and put the smaller ones back. It seems that she noticed that the huge sandwich was roughly equivalent to 3 of the smaller sandwiches but was cheaper than the 2 we were going to buy. When I complimented her for noticing, she said “I learned it from you.” More smiling on my part.

Just when you think you have lost them, they go and show you they are still watching and learning from you after all.

4 Responses to “Hey, She’s Still Paying Attention”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Hey,

    Glad to hear this. Maybe there is still hope that my 17 yr old is listening to me.

  2. Jodi Says:

    Yep, they’re always listening and watching – good or bad, they take it all in.

  3. John Says:

    That is so sweet!

  4. nectarfizz Says:

    Ah…so very neat…I am in envy…Your kids are amazing people..and they have an amazing role model..in..their mom..heh heh heh (just kidding love)


Leave a Reply

