I’ve Got a Job!

Those of you that follow this blog regularly may recall that I found out last fall that I would be losing my job to outsourcing in July. I’ve been looking inside and outside my company since then and had not been successful in finding something that was a good fit.

Well, that has finally changed for the good. I was just offered a position as the IT Administrator for a small manufacturing company. Basically, I’m going to be their one-man IT department. It is going to be a radical change from being in a very specialized position at a large company to a jack of all trades at a small company. However, I’m looking forward to the new challenge, and thankfully they are willing let me work through the learning curve on some of the areas that I’m not as strong in.

Since one blog is not enough, I’m starting a new blog called One Man IT Shop to chronicle my transformation from a Fortune 500 IT foot soldier to the general of a one-man IT army. It’s going to bore the snot out of just about everyone. I put the chances at less than 50% that even one person will be interested. But it’s mostly there for me anyway.

7 Responses to “I’ve Got a Job!”

  1. jonsquared Says:

    Congrats on the new job! Oh, and 50% of me– the nerdy part– will be reading your new blog.

  2. smysore Says:

    Congratulations!! And good luck on the new job.

  3. John Says:

    Congratulations my friend. I never doubted for a moment that this whole process would work out for you. You are the best!
    I love you man!

  4. John Says:

    btw… I will be reading (maybe not understanding). And there will be a link on my blog.

  5. Bryan Says:

    John, thanks for believing in me. I was beginning to doubt myself after so many dead end tries.

  6. nectarfizz Says:

    Geeks are super sexy..I might just mosey on over…

  7. Bryan Says:

    Mosey away, but my wife might kill us if any touching beyond a friendly hug is involved. I’ll let you know when we join that Morman cult. 🙂


Leave a Reply

