Knee-Deep in June

For awhile, I was trying to make some extra cash by buying books at yard sales and then selling them on eBay, half.com, or amazon.com. I just ran across an old box of books and found a book called Riley Farm-Rhymes by James Whitcomb Riley. It was originally written in 1883, though this particular edition was printed in 1901. On the dedication page, it says “Inscribed with all grateful esteem to the good old-fashioned people.”

It’s actually a book of poems. I could be jeopardizing my Man Card by doing this, but I’m going to share part of one of the poems with you. It has 8 (verses?). But I like the first one, because I can identify with the laziness it expresses. Here you go:

KNEE-DEEP IN JUNE

I

Tell you what I like the best–

‘Long about knee-deep in June,

‘Bout the time strawberries melts

On the vine,–some afternoon

Likes to jes’ git out and rest,

And not work at nothin’ else!

One Response to “Knee-Deep in June”

  1. Kathie Says:

    I like that poem, too. That’s how I found your site, I was looking up all the words. I was thinking on the date (first day of summer) and reflecting that we were knee deep in June .. so went on a hunt. IMHO you don’t lose man points (for the club) .. you GAIN ’em! KathieKate


Leave a Reply

