Grumpy Old Man

Am I becoming a grumpy old man? You be the judge.

Okay, I have no problem with the Muscular Dystrophy Association–in fact I have given money on and off over the years. I also have no problem with firefighters. These folks are heroes that are always there and stand ready to risk their lives to save ours. I have no problem with streets–they are a wonderful tool to get us from point A to point B.

What I can’t stand is the one time every year where these three wonderful entities converge to piss me off. Yes, it’s the annual Fill the Boot campaign. This is where thousands of firefighters across the country take to the streets to clog up traffic and endlessly badger motorists to throw some money into some smelly old boot for MDA.

How can this be legal? Who else can stand out in the middle of the street, beg for money, and get away with it? That’s right, no one. But apparently law enforcement looks the other way because it’s the firefighters. For like the last 5 years, I’ve threatened to complain to law enforcement to get this harrassment stopped. But I never have. And I probably won’t this year. And probably never will. I’ll just keep complaining to anyone else that will listen.

3 Responses to “Grumpy Old Man”

  1. John Says:

    I understand what you are saying here, really I do. But its the FIREMEN! and… KIDS IN WHEELCHAIRS!

    Here in Pendleton, I am fortunate with this little fundraiser. I am only accosted by these BRAVE men one time per year, and it’s when I am stuck in traffic ANYWAY. Our Firefighters take advantage of the bumper to bumper traffic during the two parades at Roundup to nonchalantly offer an open boot to me while I sit fuming, wondering why I didn’t walk to the parade.

    I obligingly clean out the change from my ashtray, cup holder, the crevices between the seats…. etc.

    Where else am I going?

  2. jonsquared Says:

    Move over, Gramps. You’re blocking the TV.

  3. Bekki Says:

    Grumpy, old and slightly bumpy..hahahhaha (grin)


Leave a Reply

