Time for Drivers Ed

Well it’s another big milestone for the Older Daughter. Yes, she started drivers ed this week. I have a lot of mixed feelings about this. I’m basically one part proud, one part sad, and one part nervous. I’m excited and proud to see her grow up and accomplish things. I’m sad because this is one more step toward eventual independence. While independence is a good thing, there is still a part of me that doesn’t want to let go of childhood. Also, driving will soon be something that I’m not needed for, and dads like to be useful. Also, I now have one more thing to worry about. I have no doubt that she will be a great driver and I trust her. But I’m a parent–worrying is part of the job description.

She is understandably very excited. She has actually been driving up and down our driveway (about a quarter of mile long) for probably 2 years. So she has been chomping at the bit to drive ever since.

Leave a Reply

