8 Things About Me I’m Pretty Sure You Don’t Care About

Okay, my posting rate has been a little slow over the last few days. So I’m lifting a meme from John to get things moving along again. With this meme, you basically tell 8 facts about yourself and then tag someone else. I’m not going to officially tag anyone, but be a good sport and play along okay?

1. Both of my grandpas were named after famous people: Jesse James and Benjamin Franklin. Unfortunately, I never had the pleasure meeting either one (neither the grandpas nor the actual famous people).

2. I have ridden in the back of a police car and briefly checked out the county jail. You see, back in junior high, we had a zero-tolerance policy for fighting. If you were caught, you automatically got to ride to the county jail–about 13 miles away. They scared the hell out of you by showing you some cells, then your parents got to come pick you up. The fight was so minor that it was not worth it. No charges were filed. In retrospect, I should have drawn some blood or something for all the trouble of having my parents pick me up from jail.

3. Several years back, I was a good sport and took Irish dance lessons with the Younger Daughter. For the record, she grew bored of it and decided to quit–not me.

4. My biggest traffic pet peeve: Not using your turn signal. In an earlier post, I threatened to develop a tactical nuke capable of taking out a car. I would definitely use this on those who can’t be bothered with such formalities as signalling turns.

5. I am a sucker for cats. I could easily be one of those freaks that has like 47 cats. I hope this doesn’t threaten my Man Club membership.

6. In junior high, I once told a counselor that my goal was to be an NBA basketball player. For some weird reason, he thought I should have a backup plan, but I didn’t think so. For the record, I never even tried out for basketball. Oh yeah, and I’m 5’9″. Thankfully, I did come up with a backup plan.

7. I was so painfully shy in my younger years, that I never attended a single dance–not even the big ones: homecoming, prom, etc. That’s probably my single biggest regret from my youth.

8. Many years ago now, John and I decided at around 3pm to drive from Portland, Oregon, to Vancouver, B.C…for no particular reason. And we just turned around and drove right back after grabbing some fuel and snacks in Vancouver. A 12-hour round-trip if I remember correctly. Crazy. And one of my fondest memories.

9 Responses to “8 Things About Me I’m Pretty Sure You Don’t Care About”

  1. Rick Says:

    I’m a little disturbed by #5. You see, we guys are only supposed to pretend that we like cats, so that we can keep our wives and girlfriends happy. But secretly, we think of ways to clandestinely dispose of those cats…

  2. Rick Says:

    Oh, #8 sounds awesome. Sorry I wasn’t around for that one.

  3. jonsquared Says:

    Re, #4. Have you ever driven in Puerto Rico? You’ll have a few more traffic-related peeves to add to your list.

  4. Bryan Says:

    No, I’ve never had the pleasure(?) I could probably do a whole post on the top 8 driving peeves. Maybe I’ll do that.

  5. Bryan Says:

    Rick: It wouldn’t be quite as fun as the original spontaneous event, but we should all plan to meet in Portland some time and re-live this historic event.

  6. John Says:

    If memory serves, that was in 1988…. this is the 20th anniverseray of that great odyssey.

    But also, I think that our ‘plan’ was to go to Seattle (we went to the Space Needle). It was a conversation in the car that led to the decision to drive on to BC (after several rounds of, “what do you wanna do now?” “I don’t know, what do you wanna do?”

    Forget the Blazer game on the 12th, lets drive to Vancouver!

    PS… remember the SWEET deal we got on Super Big Gulps at the 7-11 in Vancouver?

  7. John Says:

    I too am disturbed by #5.

    My good ol dog Buster died almost 4 years ago now. We haven’t got a new dog… but we have 2 GDI cats!

  8. 8 Completely Irrelevant Facts About Me « SaintPaulGrrl’s Northern Exposure Says:

    […] 8 Completely Irrelevant Facts About Me Okay, Bryan, I’ll play along with your meme! […]

  9. Nectarfizz Says:

    1) Thats kinda neat actually.
    2) hahahahahahaha sorry..but it’s just funny.
    3) You liked it…admit it!
    4) I recall this one very well.
    5) Cat-man-do?
    6) Bryan Bird?
    7) Bryan shy? NO WAY DUDE!
    8) ROADTRIP…please say you did at least one chinese fire drill!


Leave a Reply

