My Failed Career as a Mechanic

About 10 years ago, I picked up a crappy old Mazda 323 so that we could save money with the forthcoming birth of the Younger Daughter. A buddy and I went to lunch a few times per week and he kept chiding me about not having a working radio. One day, he’d had enough and took a look to see if we could fix it. As it turns out, the fuse servicing the radio was simply missing. So, in our infinite wisdom, we randomly removed fuses from other slots until we found one that was “not doing anything”, and placed it in the radio slot. Awesome, now we could listen to some tunes on our drive.

As we were driving back to work on a very hot August afternoon, I noticed that the temperature gauge was rising. I finally had to pull over as it reached critical levels. Opening the hood, I noticed that the radiator hose had burst. Apparently that fuse was doing something after all. Yes, we removed the fuse servicing the radiator fan. Hey, I don’t claim to be a genius all of the time.

Leave a Reply

