Am I Deaf?

I was at the doctor’s office for a physical. I saw “the glove” and the lubricating gel on the counter. Turns out he was planning on doing a prostate exam. I politely declined. Guidelines say that you should start getting this exam done at age 40 and I’m not going to have a done a day before I turn 40, so there.

Anyway, he completed the rest of the physical and asked if I had any particular health concerns. I didn’t really have any, but mentioned I thought I was having more difficulty hearing. So…he proceeded to rub his thumb and index finger together near my ear and ask if I could hear that. And I could, so he said my hearing was fine.

Ok, wait. This guy spent 10 years of his life and tens of thousands of dollars on medical school. We live in the United States and have access to the best diagnostic tools money can buy. And he rubs fingers together to check my hearing? This is insanity!

11 Responses to “Am I Deaf?”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    I think the snapping of the glove on the hand would be the best hearing test in that situation.

    That is a very uncomfortable sound.

  2. Rick Says:

    Yeah, be thankful you got out of there with your hearing.

    Did you say 40? Better not show this post to the wife. I turn 41 this year.

  3. John Says:

    I went in for my annual physical last month. During the preliminaries (weight, blood pressure, etc) with the nurse, she asked (rather oddly) if I were prepared for the exam. I said, “sure, I was studying all night”. She looked rather surprised, then asked, “so you followed the suggestions on the list?” Now, I didn’t have any idea what she was talking about. When I told her that, she looked at the chart and told me that the Doc was planning a prostate exam. My first response was, “Im not 40, and I’m not doing that a day before I am.”.

    When the Doc came in I told him that while he may have been looking forward to it, I wasn’t and unless he could show me on the lab results that my PSA levels were elevated, no way. My Doc is great. He laughed and told me that he hates doing them as much as guys hate getting them, and I had made is evening.

    Glad to do what I can.

  4. Bryan Says:

    (claps vigorously)

    Awesome job, bud. We guys need to stick together on this. Just say no to the rectal digital exam before you’re 40.

  5. jonsquared Says:

    I hate physicals…

  6. saintpaulgrrl Says:

    Your hearing test makes about as much sense as the $300 my doctor charged to diagnose fluid in my middle ear, which was what I told him when I went in there!

    Hey, I turned 50 two years ago… and I’m STILL saying no to the colonoscopy!

  7. Bryan Says:

    I remember when the kids were younger that we could diagnose ear infections with no problem. But no, we had to still take them to the doctor and pay out lots of money for an exam–only to get the exact presciption that we knew was needed.

  8. saintpaulgrrl Says:

    In my case, I couldn’t hear out of my left ear. I’m a nurse, and I went in and said, “It’s either impacted ear wax or fluid in my middle ear because of this virus I’ve had.” A simple look in my ear confirmed it wasn’t impacted ear wax, and the doc could have left it at that. But no, he had to do a $300 “tympanogram” to confirm the other possibility — and then told me to take an over-the-counter decongestant! What a waste of money! 😦

  9. Nectarfizz Says:

    I just have to do it, I have to: “can you hear me now?”
    muh hah hah hah

  10. Kym Says:

    I cracked up at your doctor tale and went searching for this piece by Dave Barry about his fear of having a Colonoscopy. Hope you enjoy.
    http://www.miamiherald.com/548/story/427603.html

  11. Bryan Says:

    That Dave Barry piece is absolutely hilarious. Thanks for sharing Kym!


Leave a Reply

