A Tribute to Buddy: 1991 – 2008

I had always wanted a cat, but couldn’t have one as a child. As a teen, I loved going over to John’s house, because I was able to play with his cat Toby. So, within a week of getting married in 1991, The Wife and I were at the Idaho Humane Society to pick out a kitten. We looked at many, but this adorable little orange fuzzball captured our hearts immediately. We took care of the adoption paperwork and then headed to the store to pick the necessary supplies. I waited in the car and bonded with my new friend while The Wife went inside to get the stuff. He was so tiny that I was able to place him in the recessed instrument panel on our Mazda 323. I was stroking his chin and he was purring like a buzz saw. I looked down at him, he looked up at me, and I said “Hey buddy”. It was that simple…that’s how he became Buddy.

Buddy was the most easy-going cat I have ever known. Whether it was bringing a new animal into the house or having a baby pull on his tail, he never complained–he just purred away. He loved car rides. I would take him with me on a trip to the store. On the trip there, he would wander around the car, look out the windows, then eventually sack out somewhere. However, he would apparently miss me while I was in the store, because on the trip home he was on my lap rubbing all over me.

He also loved to talk. When you talked to him, he was always ready with a reply. He also didn’t have any problem yelling at us after we were gone for too long or if dinner was late. We could always ask a question and fancy that his reply was “yes” or “no”.

About 7 years ago, Buddy developed chronic pancreatitis. It was so severe at one point, that we nearly had to put him to sleep. However, the vet had us try some special food that she thought might buy him some more time. The vet is still amazed that he lived as long as he did.

For many years, he slept at my side. With him there purring, it was a comforting and relaxing tonic for a stressful life. In recent months, he simply preferred sleeping elsewhere. I think that climbing on and off the bed was too difficult for him. However, right up until the end, he would sit on my lap in the recliner each evening–purring like crazy. It was a highlight of my day that I will miss.

Through 17 years, 4 residences, 2 kids growing from infants to tween- and teen-hood, and multiple other animals coming and going, Buddy had always been there. Now that he is gone, there is a huge hole in our home and a pain in our hearts that will take a long time to heal.

Goodbye Buddy…We love you!

4 Responses to “A Tribute to Buddy: 1991 – 2008”

  1. Jeff Rosenthal Says:

    Bryan –

    I am sorry for your loss. Your story illustrates the positive impact that pets have on our lives. Idaho Humane Society has a success story/in memorium webpage. I wonder if we could have permission to reprint your Buddy’s story there?

    Sincerely,

    Jeff

  2. hydho71 Says:

    I am so sorry. I know just how difficult it is to lose such a beloved member of our family. Your story was very touching and I sit here with tears in my eyes. Buddy seemed like a special little guy. I’m sure he will be missed terribly. I just wanted to send my condolences to you and your family.

    With best regards,
    Heidi Griffith

  3. jonsquared Says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. What an excellent tribute you wrote about a member of your family. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Bryan Says:

    Thanks for the kind words. I found writing this very therapeutic in dealing with the loss.


Leave a Reply

