Unemployment Line or Lottery Winner?

I haven’t shared this publicly yet, but I’m being laid off (along with half of my department) from my employer of 17 years. Thankfully, I’ve been given lots of notice (I found out in October that my last day will be in July) and a nice severance package, but it’s obviously still not an easy process. I joined this company right out of college. I’m very loyal and probably would have spent my entire career there. But, it was not to be. That’s life, I get it.

I got into work with this employer through a prior summer internship, so there was no “real” search. So needless to say, my job searching skills are pretty lean. Today, I attended a job search workshop put on by the Idaho Department of Labor. They did a really good job and I picked up a lot of good tips. This is my first “real” job search ever, so all the help I can get it great.

At the beginning, we did the usual ice-breaker. You know, go around the room and introduce yourself (thanks for wasting my time). Now usually, you go around and tell a little bit about yourself, right? Well, not at this event. Here, we were asked to tell what we would do if we suddenly came into $50 million.   (sigh)   Okay, hold on. At a minimum, I’m going through an excruciating job search. Next best case is that I’m coming into the unemployment office each week to beg for my generous unemployment benefit. Worst case, I’m digging for left-over food out of a dumpster. So what do they do? They taunt me with the prospect of a $50 million windfall that would allow me to relax for the rest of my life. I don’t get it.

5 Responses to “Unemployment Line or Lottery Winner?”

  1. saintpaulgrrl Says:

    I don’t get it, either. Best of luck to you. We’ve been down that unemployment road before, too, a couple of times as a matter of fact, and it’s quite the…um…learning experience. I hope it goes as well as it can.

  2. Rick Says:

    That is a weird icebreaker activity, especially for people looking for work. Best of luck to you in your search….what’s your background?

  3. Bryan Says:

    I’ve done software development for about 15 years (Visual Basic, C#, and other languages). Then I’ve been a database administrator (DBA) for almost 2 years.

  4. John Says:

    That is truly bizarre.

    I imagine that the book they got that brilliant ice-breaker from also has suggestions for:

    Hey Mr. Death Row Inmate, you’ve been given an all expense paid trip, where would you go?

    Hey Ms. Homeless Person, Ty Pennington has just showed up, what is your reaction?

    Hey Mr. Triple Amputee, you’ve just came in 45,367th place in the Boston Marathon, how would you change your training?

    and so on…

  5. smysore Says:

    I know the feeling, kind of. I’m in a very similar situation (having worked at this only company since I graduated). My company is cutting all over the place too and it is never a pleasant feeling with the axe hanging above all the time. Good luck on the hunt.


Leave a Reply

