Here’s Who You Should Vote For

Who should I vote for?

I’ve seen a lot of quizzes out there that are supposed to help you decide who to vote for, but most of them seem pretty seem pretty lame. However, I’ve found one that may be a step above the rest. No tool like this is perfect, but it may be a useful educational tool. It’s called Glassbooth. You start off by weighting 14 issues. You have 20 points in which to allocate among the issues. If you are a single-issue person, you can allocate all 20 point to one issue. Otherwise, spread around the points as you see fit.

When you are happy with your point allocations, you move on to the questions. The questions are chosen based on the issues that you allocated points to. Your answer is on a 5-point scale from Strongly Oppose to Strongly Support. Answer those question and you are given the top 3 candidates that match you the closest by percent.

From there, you can drill into each issue and find out why they agree or disagree with you. They support their assertions with speech quotes and actual votes on bills, so you can understand why they think you match up or don’t with a particular candidate.

You are not limited to evaluating the top 3. They give you the ability to look at how you match up with any of the current candidates and many of those that have dropped out.

In case you care about my quiz (I know you don’t), first here’s how I allocated my 20 points among the issues:

  • Medical Marijuana and Drug Policy: 0
  • Civil Liberties and Domestic Security: 3
  • Crime and Punishment: 0
  • Iraq and Foreign Policy: 3
  • Trade and Economics: 2
  • Environment and Energy: 2
  • Gun Control: 0
  • Immigration: 3
  • Health Care: 0
  • Social Security: 4
  • Taxes and Budget: 3
  • Education: 0
  • Gay Rights: 0
  • Abortion and Birth Control: 0

Here are the top three candidates it spit out based on my answers to the subsequent questions:

  • Mike Huckabee: 71%
  • Ron Paul: 65%
  • John McCain: 65%

I checked out the other two remaining candidates to see how I match up with them:

  • Hillary Clinton: 44%
  • Barack Obama: 38%

I’d be interested in seeing what John and anyone else interested comes up with on this quiz.

7 Responses to “Here’s Who You Should Vote For”

  1. eltone Says:

    Thanks for a great link. It showed me that I have a 72% match (which was the 3rd and last match) with Billary Clinton, and I don’t even trust her. But I sure enjoyed the site thanks again.

  2. politicaltravis Says:

    Okay, here is mine:

    Ron Paul 75% (We differ on gun control.) I didn’t try to get him even though he is my favorite candidate.

    Then came the shocks:
    Mike Gravel 67% (Shockingly, he is a Democrat.)
    Barak Obama 63% (NOW THIS IS A HUGE SHOCK!)

    The site was fun. Thanks Bryan.

  3. politicaltravis Says:

    Now wait…

    Barak Obama 63% similar
    Mike Huckabee 63% similar

    How can that be?

  4. Bryan Says:

    That’s like matter and anti-matter. Man you must have some pretty freaky views. 🙂

    Hey, if you have a blog, let me know. I’d love to drop by and check it out.

  5. politicaltravis Says:

    Sorry Bryan, I haven’t been checking my messages the last few weeks. My blog is at PoliticalWrite.wordpress.com and yes, i do have so pretty freaky views.

  6. jos76 Says:

    As a gay man, I initially thought that I would vote for the candidate who supported gay rights more, but in the past few years I have realized that I am not a single issue voter. It seems also that I am not alone on this. The Washington Blade recently reported on a Human Rights Campaign survey that reported that about 25 percent of the gay. lesbian, and bisexual voters that responded said that the economy and jobs are the most important issues. Another 24 percent said that health care was the most important and 18 percent put Iraq as their top concern. Others voters chose taxes and government spending or the environment and global warming as their biggest concern. Only 21 percent of respondents made gay rights/marriage their top issue.

    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

