Earthquake!

The Wife called me at 7:23am and asked “Did you feel it?” I had no idea what she was talking about. Apparently she was sitting at a stoplight in Meridian, Idaho on her way home from work when her truck started shaking. She looked around for a big truck coming down the road that might cause the shaking, but saw nothing. Then she saw that the stoplights were bobbing up and down.

What she felt was a 6.3 magnitude earthquake that occurred 11 miles northeast of Elko, Nevada, 6 miles below the surface. The temblor was felt throughout northern Nevada, southern Idaho, and northern Utah. Cracked walls were reported at the Motel 6 in Wells, Nevada. Unfortunately, it sounds like there will be many more reports forthcoming of property damage in the immediate Wells area.

3 Responses to “Earthquake!”

  1. John Says:

    The Greater Wells Metro Area?

  2. John Says:

    Do you remember the 1983 Challis earthquake?

  3. Bryan Says:

    I do and I am so bummed. I have been through 2 earthquakes (the 1983 Challis one and Thursday’s) and didn’t feel either one.

    In 1983, I was walking through the halls at OHS to Ms. Riordan’s room. She had a TRS-80 computer in there, so I would go in and feed my nerdness by messing around on the computer before classes got started.

    I walked in and she asked “did you feel that earthquake?” Sadly, I did not, though I saw the lights swaying from the aftermath. Since my body was in motion from walking, I apparently did not feel the quake.

    For the one Thursday, the kids and I were at home and none of us felt it.

    I don’t want anyone to get hurt, but I want some cool quake story to tell!


Leave a Reply

