Laughter: The Best Medicine?

Dr. Madan Kataria, an Indian doctor and student of Yoga has invented something called Laughter Yoga. Apparently, the concept is to get together with a bunch of other people and laugh yourselves silly–for no particular reason. So why would someone want to do this? I’ll let him speak for himself:

“We all know that laughter makes us feel good. A regular 20 minute laughter session can have a profound impact on our health and wellbeing. Laughter is gentle exercise. It fill your lungs and body with oxygen, deep-clears your breathing passages and exercises your lungs. This is really important for people who don’t get regular aerobic exercise.

When we laugh our bodies release a cocktail of hormones & chemicals that have startling positive effects on our system. Stress is reduced, blood pressure drops, depression is lifted, your immune system is boosted & more. Western science is just starting to discover the great effects of laughter.”

Dr. Kataria trains Certified Laugh Instructors to lead these giggle fits. There are now over 5,000 Laughter Clubs in 40 countries. Check out this Laughter Club session (if you dare).

Now I don’t know about you, but I’m a little freaked out by this. I agree that laughter is important. I totally love humor and laughter. However, the idea of getting together with 20 other people and randomly laughing seems just a bit strange. I’d rather read some hilarious blogs, watch a good comedy movie, or turn on some I Love Lucy. But that’s just me.

By the way, I think the first Laughter Club was actually formed in the Mary Poppins movie. Remember that scene where Uncle Albert is laughing uncontrollably and floating on the ceiling? Then the kids start laughing and join him?

2 Responses to “Laughter: The Best Medicine?”

  1. jonsquared Says:

    I truly believe in the health benefits of laughter which is why I make it a point to laugh at people all the time. I would be inclined to try one of those laughter clubs even just once, because, you know, sometimes I just gotta get my freak on.

  2. smysore Says:

    Too bad, I couldn’t watch the laughter club video (says no longer available). But I think this is very easy for girls to do (especially teenage girls). I remember whenever we used to get together with close friends, most were laugh/ giggle sessions. I’ve done that in my 20s too. To be honest, once you start, its hard to stop when you are in that mood. We used to drive my brothers crazy. Ah, miss those days …


Leave a Reply

