A Beautiful, Snowy Night

It has been snowing like crazy this evening. I would guess 3-4 inches so far and “it doesn’t show signs of stopping.” The wind is also blowing, so it’s creating some amazing snow drifts. My best friend John hates the snow, but I love it. So we’ll just agree to disagree on this one. Anyway, I wanted to share a couple of pictures I took of our livestock out braving the elements.

This is Todd. He’s our lovable, friendly steer. He is very sociable, but doesn’t know his own strength. He can give you a nudge in the behind with those horns that’s just a little too friendly (and painful).

dscn2958.jpg

This is Lefty, our gentlemanly Quarter Horse.  He is very gentle and loving. Here I am interrupting his dinner to get a quick candid shot.

dscn2950.jpg

5 Responses to “A Beautiful, Snowy Night”

  1. Nectarfizz Says:

    Wow Bryan you have real animals…!! Cool.

  2. saintpaulgrrl Says:

    I love big, fluffy snowflakes — especially when I can sit indoors and watch them come down. Driving in it, however, sucks.

  3. John Says:

    I have a multitude of reasons for ‘hating’ snow.

    1. It’s cold. I know, I know, this may come as a shock to you. But, when my feet and hands get cold it takes alot to warm them again. Throw in the added benefit of age and my hands ache.

    2. I live in a city of hills, my street is a 12% grade. Some streets in Pendleton are 17%! The positive note on the location of my house is that it is just far enough up the hill that I have momentum from the cross street to get into my driveway w/o losing traction. A constant fixture of a snowy/icy day is the sound of tires spinning not 20 feet above my driveway where gravity takes its hold and the car slides forlornly to the bottom.

    3. I just like warm weather BETTER. Going outside w/o prep-work (coat, hat, gloves, etc.). Without burning 10 minutes of gas before making a 3 minute trip to the store. Then there is the grass, flowers, gardening, baseball, etc.

    Snow is initially beautiful… then the gray dirty slush mucks it all up and the deadness and mud starts showing through the melting ice. I’m sure that Todd (I love that you named him that) and Lefty’s ‘area’ isn’t so pretty a day or so after the snow starts melting and the muddy, poopy mess builds up.

    The big question… When will Todd change his name to STEAK?

  4. Bryan Says:

    I hope to have my first Toddburger by June. Yum, yum!

  5. Bryan Says:

    And yes all the negative stuff you said about snow is true. But I choose to block that out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

