The Grocery Shopper From Hell

I think I ran into a 60-year-old lady that was on her first-ever grocery shopping trip. She was in front of me at the checkout line. She had placed her items on the conveyor belt and was standing there clutching her purse. The clerk asked for her loyalty card (I hate those things, by the way). The lady stood there in silence for a moment and then said “Hmmm?”. The clerk asked again: “Do you have a loyalty club card?” Finally you could see the 20 watt bulb above her head flickering ever so faintly. She opened her purse and rooted around in there for approximately 3 days before she found it. The clerk took her card and the clerk scanned it. The lady then returned the card to her purse and closed it.

The clerk scanned her items and said “Your total comes to $26.37”. Oh no…I saw that the light had gone out again. The lady struggled for a few moments to understand. Then she finally jerked just a little as the light flickered back to life and she realized that she needed to pay. She opened the purse again and fumbled around trying to find her wallet. She found it, then painstakingly searched for the correct bills and change. I was dying as she counted out what felt like 2,637 individual pennies to pay for her items. Has she ever heard of a debit card? Has she ever heard of not taking 6 days to complete a simple grocery purchase? In general, I’m a pretty patient, easy-going guy. She really tried my patience. But I was nice. I didn’t say a word.

9 Responses to “The Grocery Shopper From Hell”

  1. jonsquared Says:

    Nice rant. I feel a lot of empathy for the elderly, though. I guess I just believe in karma. 🙂

  2. Bryan Says:

    Which is why I didn’t say anything. I doubt if my body language even tipped my hand much.

  3. Rick Says:

    Early onset Alzheimer’s?

  4. Bryan Says:

    I’m sorry, what are you talking about. 🙂

  5. nectarfizz Says:

    Naughty Bryan,very naughty. I think I will come and visit and pay with a jar of pennies..just to teach you patience. LOL

  6. Bryan Says:

    I know, I know. I’m not perfect…yet. 🙂

  7. bluesuit12 Says:

    You too huh? I just posted a crappy shopping experience that happened the other day. I’m begining to think maybe weekdays are not meant for shopping and I should stick to early Saturday morning before people wake up.

  8. Bryan Says:

    Plus Bekki, I like to be a little naughty every now and again. 😉

  9. Allison Says:

    Ugh, that sounds awful. I don’t tend to be a patient person in general, and grocery stores really exacerbate this trait. I did, however, run my cart into the heel of an older woman in front of me because I was in a hurry and not paying attention. I felt like a complete wretch about that incident, and apologized profusely.


Leave a Reply

